[Ncep.nhc.nco_contacts] TSB Morning Rounds - Tue May 23, 2017

TSB Admin nhc.tsbadmin at noaa.gov
Tue May 23 14:23:10 UTC 2017


Here is today's summary of NHC computer operations:
--- Mello

----------

TAFB:
1. AWIPS2 disks will arrive via FedEx by 15z today.

2. Forecasters received several AlertViz banners just after 11z for  
ifpimage errors when running the send to NAWIPS / web script. Mello will  
follow up.

3,. Jeff instructed Forecasters to run the NWPS with the following as your  
first WIND grid:

00z 06z 12z 18z

Previously we thought that it would be OK to run in for the
intermediate times (03, etc.), but this causes issues with the RWPS
(replacement for the NWPS which is currently being tested on WCOSS).

Of course remember that it does not matter what the Current time is,
only what your first Wind grid is when you trigger a run.


HSU:
1. Storm surge will do AWIPS2 testing today for the TCV products. Mike  
Brennan and Jamie sill take the lead on this.

1600 - NHC initiates Test Coordination Call with participating coastal WFOs  
and Technical Experts

1715 - NHC submits pre-TCV with TR.A for the 6 WFOs

1730 - NHC notifies WFOs of receipt of wind hazard grids (by NWS Chat)

1730 - 1745 - NHC sends cancellation TCV so hazards are removed from WFO  
VTEC tables, also notifies by NWS Chat

Other items:

NHC RFCs:

1. RFC #3302 - Annual upgrade the NHC Guidance Suite to v2.1.2. Includes:  
1) suite ported to run on the Cray, 2) remove some Fortran source files and  
scripts due to the retirement of several legacy models (BAMS, BAMM, BAMD,  
LBAR, awipsmsg, 3-Day CLIPER, and SHIFOR), 3) modifications to coefficient  
files for the SHIPS and LGEM models, internal parameters for the TAB model,  
and 4) new ATCF e-deck output for the probabilistic rapid intensification  
index (RII). To be implemented on Tuesday, May 23 at 1200Z (8 am EDT).

2. RFC #3305 - Modify DBNet on WCOSS to begin sending alerts from the NHC  
Wind Speed Probability processing to the NHC DBNet systems. NHC DBNet  
systems will also begin receiving WCOSS model alerts which are currently  
only being sent to the NHC AWIPS system. To be implemented on Tuesday, May  
23 at 1400Z (10 am EDT).

3. RFC #3312 - Modify DBNet on WCOSS to begin sending P-Surge files to  
NOMADS (NOAA Operational Model Archive and Distribution System) in College  
Park and Boulder. To be implemented on Tuesday, May 23 at 1700Z (1 pm EDT).


-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: https://www.lstsrv.ncep.noaa.gov/pipermail/ncep.nhc.nco_contacts/attachments/20170523/3a1a66c7/attachment.html 


More information about the Ncep.nhc.nco_contacts mailing list