[Ncep.nhc.nco_contacts] TSB Morning Rounds - Tue Apr 25, 2017

TSB Admin nhc.tsbadmin at noaa.gov
Tue Apr 25 15:20:48 UTC 2017


Here is today's summary of NHC computer operations:
--- Matt Sardi

----------

TAFB:
1. CUMULUS (surface desk) has been performing better since NCO fixed a  
configuration file (xorg.conf) typo on that box. We will leave the Helpdesk  
ticket open until we are satisfied the system is stable.

2. TSB opened an 'Urgent' helpdesk ticket on TAFB Atlantic desk workstation  
BALLYHOO, which continues to suffer serious performance degradation. NCO  
fixed some configuration typos in the xorg.conf file, Scott Stripling will  
test these changes this afternoon.
HSU:
1. WFO storm surge testing Mon-Thu. Mike Brennan will submit a test psurge  
run each day, and then the WFOs will make sure they can ingest it.
Other items:
1. CARCAH, TSB, and NCO continue identify/fix issues on the scout2 RHEL6  
replacement workstation.

2. Reminder, NCO will be performing upgrades on the core Internet routers  
in College Park, MD on Wednesday, April 26, 2017.

The intermittent impacts during the 1015 UTC (6:15 am ET) to 1120 UTC (7:20  
am ET) period will affect Remote NCEP Centers, including NHC:
· Loss of internet service
· Interruption to NCEP VPN access and WCOSS
· Delay of NCEP-hosted email services, such as listservs

There will be a second period of potential impact from 1900 UTC (3pm ET) to  
2015 UTC (4:15 pm ET). The work during this 75 minutes should not result in  
any outages, but it is a high risk period of work that they want users to  
be aware of.
NHC RFCs:
None.

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: https://www.lstsrv.ncep.noaa.gov/pipermail/ncep.nhc.nco_contacts/attachments/20170425/80342ad4/attachment.html 


More information about the Ncep.nhc.nco_contacts mailing list