[Ncep.nhc.nco_contacts] TSB Morning Rounds - Thu Oct 13, 2016

TSB Admin nhc.tsbadmin at noaa.gov
Thu Oct 13 14:43:00 UTC 2016


Here is today's summary of NHC computer operations:
--- Craig Mattocks

----------

TAFB:
None.
HSU:
1. There were problems retrieving SHIPS guidance through the ATCF this  
morning, probabaly due to the production switch on the WCOSS supercomputing  
clusters (tide, luna -> gyre, surge) and the time required to unpack grib  
files. The third try worked like a charm.
Other items:
1. NHC requested and received approval for a GOES-East Rapid Scan  
Operations (RSO) period from 02:14 UTC (10:14 pm EDT) Thursday, Oct. 13  
through 00:14 UTC (8:14 pm EDT) Friday, Oct. 14 to monitor Hurricane Nicole  
as it approaches Bermuda.

2. FTP flags for NHC machines: At 18:42 UTC yesterday, the Big Brother (BB)  
monitoring system started showing red alerts for ftp services on  
ftp.nhc.ncep.noaa.gov, ftp.opah.nhc.ncep.noaa.gov, and  
ftp.tpc.ncep.noaa.gov. Communication returned to normal 23 minutes later.
NHC RFCs:


-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: https://www.lstsrv.ncep.noaa.gov/pipermail/ncep.nhc.nco_contacts/attachments/20161013/4e911c9a/attachment.html 


More information about the Ncep.nhc.nco_contacts mailing list