[Ncep.nhc.nco_contacts] TSB Morning Rounds - Fri Dec 16, 2016

TSB Admin nhc.tsbadmin at noaa.gov
Fri Dec 16 15:33:27 UTC 2016


Here is today's summary of NHC computer operations:
--- Craig Mattocks

----------

TAFB:
No new issues.
HSU:
1. A test of the new Hurricane Hotline, scheduled at 2 pm (19Z) failed due  
to a licensing error on the communications server (which worked fine last  
week). NCO is working with Cisco Systems to get the problem resolved as  
soon as possible.
Other items:
1. PSurge test: At 2032Z (3:32 pm EST) Senior Hurricane Specialist Mike  
Brennan sent and email message to the SDM, alerting him that he had just  
submitted a PSurge run for the test storm AL842016 for 21Z. The production  
job hourly/nhc/psurge/jpsurge_datachk failed 18 minutes later due to a  
configuration problem with the submission account (atcf-build vs atcf-ops).  
A test HSOFS job failed as well while waiting on PSurge input. TSB  
Developer Monica Bozeman corrected the configuration problem, the jobs were  
resubmitted, and they ran successfully to completion.
NHC RFCs:
1. OPC: 'get_sentinel_data.pl' Send Sentinel-3a altimeter data to NHC and  
WFO HFO for use in NAWIPS via DBNet. Sample data and N-AWIPS table changes  
have been shared with NHC and HFO. A DBNet RFC needs to be implemented  
before this RFC. To be implemented on Tuesday January, 3, 2017 at 1600Z (11  
am EST). More info on the Sentinal-3a satellite:

http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Observing_the_Earth/Copernicus/Sentinel-3

Spatial resolution:

https://sentinel.esa.int/web/sentinel/user-guides/sentinel-3-olci/resolutions/spatial

2. RFC #2682 - NWSChat goes live in College Park, effective Monday,  
December 19 at 1600Z (11 am EST).

3. RFC #2685 - The DBNet software on NCOSRV is being modified to begin  
pulling Cooperative Institute for Meteorological Satellite Studies (CIMMS)  
Cloud Wind data from NHC and write it to the NetApp for use by OPC. To be  
implemented on Tuesday, December 20 at 1400Z (9 am EST).

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: https://www.lstsrv.ncep.noaa.gov/pipermail/ncep.nhc.nco_contacts/attachments/20161216/95170c08/attachment.html 


More information about the Ncep.nhc.nco_contacts mailing list