[Ncep.nhc.nco_contacts] TSB Morning Rounds - Mon Dec 12, 2016

TSB Admin nhc.tsbadmin at noaa.gov
Mon Dec 12 14:19:38 UTC 2016


Here is today's summary of NHC computer operations:
--- Craig Mattocksi

----------

TAFB:
1. The [non-baseline] offshore swell formatters for the NT3 and NT4  
products didn't run. Forecasters successfully used the non-swell formatters  
to generate these two products.
HSU:

Other items:

NHC RFCs:
1. RFC #2655 - Install the NCO in-house script 'nvidia-boot.sh' (to set the  
correct video drivers) on operational NHC workstations and ensure the  
script is always run at boot-up. This will help eliminate the need for NCO  
Linux SysAdmin intervention when NHC workstations have to be rebooted.  
Implemented on Monday, December 12 at 1400Z (9 am EST).

2. RFC #212 - 'procwinds.pl' v1.0.1 - Add processing of the Himawari  
satwind files that NHC already pulls down from CIMSS to the satwinds code.  
Process them, and add to the netapp for forecasters to use. Also involves  
an NAWIPS table change for the new data. To be implemented on Monday,  
December 12 at 1700Z (noon EST).

3. RFC #213 - 'post_wcoss.pl' v2.0.2 - Update the script to use a new  
utility ('send2wcoss.pl') to send JTWC ATCF database files to all WCOSS  
machines, including the Crays. To be implemented on Monday, December 12 at  
1730Z (12:30 pm EST).

4. RFC #2667 - WCOSS 100G (100 gigabits per second) network upgrade -  
Replace existing Orlando gear with new router, switches, etc. The DNS and  
Subversion servers will be taken offline for a period of time. There will  
be a different path taken for the network while the affected servers are  
offline. This work is scheduled to occur between 1500Z (10 am EST) on  
Monday, December 12 and 2100Z (4 pm EST) on Friday, December 16. There may  
be an outage of 30-60 minutes while the router is replaced, so developers  
will not have access to the Orlando WCOSS system (Gyre, Surge) during that  
time. WCOSS shared storage may be unmounted as well, to prevent it from  
becoming unstable.

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: https://www.lstsrv.ncep.noaa.gov/pipermail/ncep.nhc.nco_contacts/attachments/20161212/065ea8ef/attachment.html 


More information about the Ncep.nhc.nco_contacts mailing list