[Ncep.list.nws_dissemination_office] Fwd: Announcement and Opportunity to Submit Your Questions in Advance: Effectively Visualize Your Data and Results - Wednesday, May 20th 12-1pm (with Follow-on Workshop 1-2pm)

Luis Cano - NOAA Federal luis.cano at noaa.gov
Thu Apr 16 01:09:56 UTC 2015


FYI -

---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: *Monica Montague - NOAA Federal* <monica.montague at noaa.gov>
Date: Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Subject: Announcement and Opportunity to Submit Your Questions in Advance:
Effectively Visualize Your Data and Results - Wednesday, May 20th 12-1pm
(with Follow-on Workshop 1-2pm)
To: Andrew Stern <andrew.stern at noaa.gov>, Ben Kyger - NOAA Federal <
ben.kyger at noaa.gov>, Bill Lapenta - NOAA Federal <bill.lapenta at noaa.gov>,
David Michaud - NOAA Federal <david.michaud at noaa.gov>, Deirdre Jones - NOAA
Federal <deirdre.jones at noaa.gov>, Deirdre Jones - NOAA Federal <
deirdre.r.jones at noaa.gov>, John Murphy <John.D.Murphy at noaa.gov>, Joseph
Pica - NOAA Federal <joseph.a.pica at noaa.gov>, Luis Cano <Luis.Cano at noaa.gov>,
Ming Ji <ming.ji at noaa.gov>, Donald Cline - NOAA Federal <
donald.cline at noaa.gov>, "cfo.council at noaa.gov" <cfo.council at noaa.gov>,
_NOAA SEE info <see.info at noaa.gov>, _NOAA Strategy Council <
strategy.council at noaa.gov>, _Evaluation Committee <eval.com at noaa.gov>,
_NOAA Strategy Leads <strategy.leads at noaa.gov>, Douglas Young - NOAA
Federal <douglas.young at noaa.gov>, Marc Young - NOAA Federal <
Marc.Young at noaa.gov>, Steven Brescia - NOAA Federal <steven.brescia at noaa.gov>,
Maria Sims - NOAA Federal <maria.sims at noaa.gov>, Jamie Cash - NOAA
Affiliate <jamie.cash at noaa.gov>, Ronla Henry - NOAA Federal <
ronla.henry at noaa.gov>, Chris Maier - NOAA Federal <chris.maier at noaa.gov>,
Michael Angove - NOAA Federal <michael.angove at noaa.gov>, Rocky Lopes - NOAA
Affiliate <rocky.lopes at noaa.gov>, Roger Pulwarty - NOAA Federal <
roger.pulwarty at noaa.gov>, Thomas Graziano - NOAA Federal <
thomas.graziano at noaa.gov>, Paul Schlatter - NOAA Federal <
paul.t.schlatter at noaa.gov>, Sreela Nandi <sreela.nandi at noaa.gov>, Patrick
Nield - NOAA Federal <patrick.nield at noaa.gov>
Cc: John Bortniak <John.Bortniak at noaa.gov>, Sami Grimes - NOAA Federal <
sami.grimes at noaa.gov>, Debra Braun - NOAA Federal <debra.s.braun at noaa.gov>,
Sara Pranio - NOAA Federal <sara.k.pranio at noaa.gov>, Todd Christenson -
NOAA Affiliate <todd.christenson at noaa.gov>


*The NOAA Evaluation Training and Capacity Building Subcommittee *is
hosting a Brown Bag Seminar and Workshop on Wednesday, May 20th at 12-1 pm
(with a Follow-on Workshop from 1-2pm) in NOAA Central Library (SSMC 3, 2nd
floor).



*Title: Effectively Visualize Your Data and Results*



*Date: Wednesday, May 20th - 12-1pm ET *

*(Registration required for
<https://docs.google.com/a/noaa.gov/forms/d/1XqmZ5OcdHuCt2y9sz7veXNCU-ycqpO8FITcISUMtJw0/edit?usp=drive_web>:
Follow-on Workshop from 1-2pm) *



*Location: *NOAA Central Library (SSMC 3, 2nd floor).


*Speaker: Jim Hartman, *Technical Director of the Quantitative Methods
Division, Office of the Inspector General, Department of Defense


*Abstract:*

   - "A picture is worth a thousand words" as the saying goes.
   - Do your charts and graphs present your information as effectively as a
   picture?
   - Is the information content readily understandable?
   - Learn the fundamentals of effectively visualizing data and results to
   make more compelling visualizations!

Mr. Hartman is very interested in presenting information that is of most
interest to the NOAA community, so the seminar will have a slightly
different format from previous brown bags. Immediately following the
presentation, there will be a one hour follow-on session to discuss your
specific challenges and to let Mr. Hartman provide additional examples
related to your specific interests. Please register
<https://docs.google.com/a/noaa.gov/forms/d/1XqmZ5OcdHuCt2y9sz7veXNCU-ycqpO8FITcISUMtJw0/edit?usp=drive_web>
for
the interactive portion of this seminar.

*Special Opportunity:* If you have any specific challenges or questions
that you would like addressed during the seminar or follow-on session,
please send this information to Monica.Montague at noaa.gov
<javascript:_e(%7B%7D,'cvml','Monica.Montague at noaa.gov');> and
John.Bortniak at noaa.gov
<javascript:_e(%7B%7D,'cvml','John.Bortniak at noaa.gov');> before May 6, 2015.
We look forward to seeing you.
Monica Montague
Deputy Strategy Lead for NWS/Weather-Ready Nation
Lead, NOAA Evaluation Training and Capacity Building Work Group




-- 
Luis J Cano
Director, Office of Dissemination
NOAA's National Weather Service
1325 East West Highway
Silver Spring, MD 20910
Cell 443-975-2439
www.weather.gov
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: https://www.lstsrv.ncep.noaa.gov/pipermail/ncep.list.nws_dissemination_office/attachments/20150415/c3d9af02/attachment.html 


More information about the Ncep.list.nws_dissemination_office mailing list